Home > Writing > It’s Released–THE RETREAT, EPISODE 1: PANDEMIC

It’s Released–THE RETREAT, EPISODE 1: PANDEMIC

Great infected goodness, mostly brought to you by the ineffable Craig DiLouie, with a little help from his friends.πŸ˜‰ Click below for the goods…

http://www.amazon.com/Retreat-Pandemic-Craig-DiLouie-ebook/dp/B00GQOG166/

  1. MarcW
    November 24, 2013 at 6:14 am

    Congrats! Special treat being I’m a fan af all three authors. πŸ™‚ Hey, I owe you an apology. I both like to read and listen to audio books. On Audible.com I searched for your name and was absolutely shocked to find both “The Gathering Dead” and “Earthfall” on sale for a special price of $1.98 for each title. Don’t know if that was a special just for audible members or not, I jumped on the deal and bought the audio versions even though I had already read both of these excellent books. Have to say that I feel a bit like I ripped you off after only paying less than four bucks for both. Only deepening my guilt was the fact that the narrators for each book are great… In the audio world, the narrator can make or break a book, no matter how well written. Have to say my sampling of each audio version leaves me impressed. The narrators are really good. BTW, I’m first settling in to listen to Earthfall first. I’m sure the obscene low prices are for promotional purposes…. but wow, the narrators are really good and do justice to your books. Speaking as someone whose listened to a lot of audio books, I’ve seen several good books turned to crap because of a bad narrator…. also the opposite. But in the case of your audio books, I just paid below basement level prices for the best of both worlds. Please keep the same narrator for the rest of the “Gathering Dead” series as well as the same for the prequel of “Earthfall” and its subsequent books in the series. I doubt the future audio releases of those books will be at such a low price. That’ll be where I can redeem myself because I will happily pay full price. πŸ™‚

  2. MarcW
    November 24, 2013 at 7:37 am

    Just a quick follow up… listening to Earthfall tonight. Again, struck by how intelligently written this book is. You can’t get more fantasy than describing a post-apocalyptic world and an underground base that had managed to survive the ultimate destruction brought upon the world… but the way Knight describes it is flawless. I’ve long been a fan of Tom Clancy whose a master of describing modern-day military technology in context of today’s geo-political world and it’s familiar dangers, a world that we all know and live in as well as one that has not yet been blown up. But when it comes to an imagined world that has met total devastation, no one can touch Knight. Stephen Knight is the Tom Clancy of the post-apocalyptic genre. RIP Tom Clancy, we miss you. Thank you Stephen for carrying the torch.

    • December 3, 2013 at 11:12 pm

      Wow, thanks so much, Marc! Yeah, the prices were promos set by Audible direct. I have no control over what they do. Glad you got them for cheap, and glad you’re liking them!

    • Michael
      December 13, 2013 at 8:59 pm

      Hi Marc, you should definitely get The Last Run, it’s a prequel to Earthfall. It’s absolutely brilliant and I wish it had been part of the first book. I re-read Earthfall again straight after and I enjoyed it even more than the first time.

  3. November 27, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    Finally I come kicking and screaming into the 21st Century and am getting a Kindle for Christmas. I love books, but for the prices I’ll pay and the convience of those machines, I’m coming on board. My first e-book purchase will be this book. Really looking forward to it!

    Fred

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

