Home > Writing > THE FARM Now Available!

THE FARM Now Available!

The FarmMy “Gathering Dead” short story, The Farm, is now available on Amazon, for a mere 99₵. It’ll appear on other platforms over the coming days, and please, forgive the abbreviated description–that was just a placeholder I dropped in, but neglected to correct before it was published. I’ll get that squared away as soon as I can.

Will be MIA in Texas all of next week, so y’all have yourself some fun while I’m away!

  1. Jay
    April 10, 2013 at 10:44 am

    Bought form Amazon Uk..

    • April 10, 2013 at 11:14 am

      Wow, thanks…hope you like it!

      • JAYC
        April 11, 2013 at 3:28 pm

        I did and reviewed it.. Can’t wait for the next journey with the dead !!!!

  2. joseph larosa
    April 10, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    hi steve. picked up the farm this morning and consumed it right after. what a great short story reminds me how much I loved the gathering dead. all for 99cents you cant beat that price! good luck with your trip to texas and finding a school for your son. my wife worked for years with children with autism. she always says it was the most gratifying thing shes ever done always called them her little angels.your son is beautiful he has such an angelic face. god bless and good luck.

    • April 11, 2013 at 10:49 am

      Thanks so much, Joe! I hope you’re getting along well, these days.

  3. Keith Meyers
    April 24, 2013 at 1:17 am

    That’s it???? Oh, you are such a tease!!!! (loved it)

  4. Otomosix
    May 7, 2013 at 2:31 am

    Best description of a zombie apocalypse story EVER: “Three soldiers. One Farm. Thousands of stenches. This won’t end well…”

    Want this in print!!

  5. Dublee
    June 3, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    I don’t see this book or any of your others available for the Nook.

    • June 4, 2013 at 10:33 am

      They used to be, until I realized I was leaving money on the table by not joining Amazon’s KDP program. Since that requires exclusivity, I had to pull most of the products off the other sites. But revenues from B&N and Apple and Kobo and the others vendors were deplorable–they just don’t have the same reach as Amazon does. And now that B&N is blowing up their Nook business, sticking around just didn’t make any financial sense. By NOT joining the KDP program, I was losing a lot of money every month.

      • Dublee
        June 4, 2013 at 4:14 pm

        Thank you for the explanation. As you mentioned, with the Nook business waning, and you no longer selling through B&N, I may be forced to jump ship to Amazon just to read your books.

  6. June 4, 2013 at 9:16 pm

    Dublee :

    Thank you for the explanation. As you mentioned, with the Nook business waning, and you no longer selling through B&N, I may be forced to jump ship to Amazon just to read your books.

    Well, the major problem with B&N is that they’ve done far too little, far too late. Amazon had the inertia and snapped up the market with astonishing rapidity, not because they had any real business flair for it, but because they had the resources to move in and actually shape the marketplace. A lot of people overlook that, including B&N, which was still in “we’re a paper bookseller” mode, and that’s what humped their business model. It’s a shame, because some of the later Nooks are actually pretty impressive devices.

    I’d like to see Amazon dump the .mobi format and just go with the more standard .epub documents. That way, the platform could be opened up to a lot more readers like yourself, without folks having to pitch their readers to buy a new one. I think it would be a smart move, and also quell some of the “I Hate Amazon” folks out there. And they’d still be selling books, and a lot more of them, too.

  7. Dublee
    June 7, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    Even though Amazon book pricing is usually cheaper than B&N, I wanted to support B&N if it helped keep their brick and mortar stores stay in business longer. Besides our hope that Amazon standardizes to the.epub format, I’d like to see their readers have a micro SD slot. I don’t think that will happen. Thank you for the B&N/Amazon insight.

  8. zombyz1
    August 27, 2013 at 4:34 pm

    Somehow I missed this one on amazon…my home away from home. I’ll head on over and grab it up. I had originally started in the ereader world with the nook, 1st gen no color, no backlight and web access so slow you could only use it if you had the patience of a Buddhist monk. I too likednthe fact that uout can use an sd card to expand the memory on the nook. But finally decided to go from an ereader to an actual tablet. (Which takes an sd card to expand the memory…I’m so not an iclone) I can now run both kindle and nook apps on it, I can’t get the walking dead graphic novels on it but I prefer to buy them in paper form still. But I have to agree there is a lot of books only available on amazon and everything B&N does is always a couple bucks more than the cost of the same book on amazon. How is the movie coming along? Still hoping to see it pop up on my tv as a coming attraction!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

