Home > Writing > Craig DiLouie Reviews EARTHFALL

Craig DiLouie Reviews EARTHFALL

EARTHFALL Print Cover...ain't it purty?

EARTHFALL Print Cover…ain’t it purty?

Something that I totally forgot to crow about…the inimitable Craig DiLouie posted a review of Earthfall! It’s a great honor to have a guy as savvy and brilliant as Craig give my work a thumbs-up, and for those who don’t know his work, check out the truly horrific and ultra-detailed Tooth and Nail and his excellent Infection series, The Infection and The Killing Floor. Craig also just announced a prime-time publishing deal with Simon & Schuster for his upcoming novel, Suffer the Children, which sounds pretty damned frightening. (The book, of course–not the deal.)

Here’s some of what Craig has to say about Earthfall:

[Knight] raises the technical and military detail in his books completely off the Michael Crichton scale and to the point of fetish, which is good for me as a reader, because I love a tense, action-packed apocalyptic story told with extreme realism. On every page, you know you are being told a story by a guy who knows his business. The all-terrain fighting machines the Harmony explorers use to cross the wastelands are virtually characters in the book, and I loved every minute of screen time they had. They’re fantastic–the ultimate ROAD WARRIOR vehicles. Knight’s attention to detail and realism also means his characters don’t do anything that has you slapping your head in disbelief. From the steady Captain Andrews to the haunted veteran Mulligan, they’re stark, likable, tough.

Thanks a million, bro!

  1. March 20, 2013 at 11:32 am

    I can’t believe nobody’s left any comments yet on this post.

    Being a HUGE fan of both you and Craig, I had to put my 2 cents here, if it matters at all😛

    To get praise from someone who, when you think about, is kind of a rival–not in the confrontational sort– just in the genre you both spend a lot of time in, is high praise indeed. (did that make sense? lol)

    I think that speaks volumes over some Joe Blow from BFE, Anywhere who is not an avid reader of the genre. As someone who has put in the time and effort in the same theme of books, reviews from peers hold so much more…influence(?) They have more meat to them I think, is what I mean to say.

    Sorry if I seem to ramble, just can’t seem to get the words right. I really hope you caught the gist of what I’m trying to say.

    Keep up the awesome work Steve…..AND Craig!

    \m/

  2. Ricky
    July 26, 2013 at 10:44 am

    Enjoyed Earthfall very much. As an avid reader, it disgusts me because I finished it in less than 24 hrs, now I have to wait for you to get your sequel together! Seriously, great job, keep at it!

  3. Norm Lane
    July 3, 2014 at 4:15 pm

    I just finished Earthfall, on Kindle. It was a good old fashioned tale and lots of fun but…
    For Christ’s sake look up the word “decimate.” Ten percent destruction probably isn’t what you had in mind. I realize that the word has been misused so much that the looser meaning is coming into acceptance but it still grates on many people and forces a break in the flow of narrative.

    • July 4, 2014 at 12:06 am

      Sorry, the word has transitioned in meaning. I mean, even the venerable Oxford Dictionary has the following definition, if you want to click and read:

      http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/us/definition/american_english/decimate?q=decimate

      So does Webster:

      http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/decimate

      As does Dictionary.com, if you trust such a source, which indicates the original meaning of the killing of every tenth has been obsoleted:

      http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/decimate

      • Norm Lane
        July 4, 2014 at 7:17 am

        I guess there aren’t that many of us left that took Latin. It’s like saying three card monte is really five card draw. Believe me you are far from the only person I’ve braced on this and it looks more like a windmill every time. I do concede that the word is so commonly misused that its acceptance as common usage is a fait accompli but it remains a distracting irritant. “Ain’t” is a legitimate word but using it outside of deliberate characterization also sounds a sour note, and I ain’t kidding.

        I have all the respect in the world for people that can spin a tale that grabs the imagination. I’ve tried and am not up to the effort. Good on you,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

