Home > Writing > THE GATHERING DEAD Film Update #4

THE GATHERING DEAD Film Update #4

Well, I finally have a very small clip to show, and when I say small, I really mean SMALL, in all caps. 36 frames of still-unfinished product, to be exact. Still more effects to add, rotor blurs, sound effects, music, etc., etc. … but at least I have something to show, right?

So here it is: a quick snippet from the incubating trailer for The Gathering Dead, which establishes NYC as the zombie hordes take over. And where are the zombies? Well, you’ll see them teeming in the empty streets below… eventually.

Stay tuned, folks.

The Gathering Dead Opening Animatic from Stephen Knight on Vimeo.

  1. July 5, 2012 at 11:13 am

    Good start – it will be interesting to see how it works out.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. MarcW
    July 11, 2012 at 3:50 am

    The clip, even for as short as it is, is really awesome. Has a real feel to it… and as you said it even yet has more effect to go into it. So, an already awesome clip will be even that much better. However Stephen — and I mean this with complete respect and honesty — my only concern is if you might find yourself detracted from your true gift. You are a wonderful writer.

    Its just that I see that you are personally spearheading the movie version of The Gathering Dead…. and BTW it seems that you are really effective because so much groundwork/production is already underway (I suspect few other writers could pull this off.) Also, you have put out a feeler in another blog posting about a graphic novel version of the Gathering Dead. Of course, you would get a resounding positive response and encouragement. On that score, I too think a graphic novel would be cool. However…

    My only concern would be if you might be spreading yourself thin at some point in the future. A movie and graphic novel demand a lot of time and energy. You have undoubtedly proven you could handle that. But, how would that effect your writing schedule and future novels?

    Movies are great and graphic novels are great. But in my humble opinion, they are limited mediums when compared to a good book. A well done movie is at the end an hour and a half or two of entertainment. A graphic novel is fun but seems limiting when it comes to narrative/fullness. What both mediums often lack is the plain old author’s voice…. the intimate experience or as Stephen King describes it: telepathy — a unique interaction between the writer and the reader.

    You as a writer is truly gifted in that. You shine in your books, no matter the genre. Those other mediums are a collaborative effort… nothing wrong with that but is something I suspect you’d have to devote tremendous time and effort to pull off and coordinate between scores of people in all stages of production. All of it being time taken away from your original passion of writing. I also found your blogs interesting because you spoke of the traditional publishing world hell and its politics… and how you had ventured out as a self published author after 30 years of trying it the old way…. and it seems you’re finding tremendous success that way, all the while confirming how such great talents have been denied to us by the traditional publishing houses all along. You are kind of like a break-away hero for both writers and readers.

    Don’t get me wrong, a movie or graphic novel are great but I would only be concerned if that it takes away from your obvious talent. It’s just a selfish concern of mine as a reader who awaits your next book. I’m not dismissing or trashing those efforts… from what I’ve read in your blogs, I’m sure you can pull them off and that they’ll be quality products. Buuuuuut, they won’t be as good as a good old fashioned Stephen Knight book. That being said, I’d still be in line to watch the movie on opening night and then pre-ordering the DVD for the director’s cut as well as grabbing copies of the graphic novels. I’d just hope there’d be other future Knight books in the mix. In the end, it’s all about what you want personally…. I was just giving my perspective as a reader whose enjoyed your writing. I guess I’m only saying this since you had put a feeler out there about a graphic novel and I’m replying here in this particular blog.

    Then again, I’m just another guy out there with an opinion — whose had a few beers tonight and rather wordy. But it seems obvious, no matter what you do, it will be cool. But one guy can only do so much on any given day… I just hope the original gift doesn’t take a back-burner even if the other goals prove a success.

    OK, I’ll stop here… I suspect I might have just broken a record as the wordiest asshole on your blog. I’ll just say its all said with the best of intentions. You are an awesome writer. There is definitely something wrong with the established publishing business that they didn’t see that already. I sense I should have discovered your books 5, 10 or 15 years ago… not just very recently after you went out on your own.

  3. MarcW
    July 13, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    Some people should not post online while drinking… namely me. Sorry about that. That last post was well intended but way too much. Feel free to delete that post or keep it up as a sterling example of someone being a pontificating ass after too many beers. Guess at least I wasn’t driving. :-\

    • July 15, 2012 at 11:32 am

      Ha, I’m not worried about it! But you’re right, tending to the film stuff DOES take away from writing.

      • MarcW
        July 16, 2012 at 4:42 am

        Thanks for understanding. I wonder if Hackett, Acheson or even Gatrell had drinking nights they might have regretted while on leave… though their regrets would have been far more interesting.

      • July 18, 2012 at 9:03 am

        Yeah, Hackett and Gartrell would have had a great time watching Acheson dry-humping anyone who walks past the table!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

