Home > Writing > How About Graphic Novels?

How About Graphic Novels?

Just a quick thought I wanted to throw out while I recover from the marathon writing session that resulted in The Rising Horde Volume One and The Rising Horde Volume Two (now available on Barnes and Noble’s Nook)–how do folks feel about graphic novels? I’ve been toying with the idea of releasing a comic version of The Gathering Dead, given that The Walking Dead has been such a success. What do you guys think?

This would entail me hiring an artist to actually draw the thing, and it would likely be a 100+ pages. Checking out printing costs, a color presentation of something like this would necessitate the end consumer price would be between $24.99-$32.99, which seems a bit excessive to me. Black and white would be quite a bit cheaper, and of course electronic versions would be much, much less. And in this age of iPads, the Kindle Fire, and the Nook Color, maybe that would be the way to go?

Like I said, just tossing that out there! Let me know what y’all think.

  1. May 11, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    I think creating visuals to what we have read sounds like a fantastic idea! I’ll pay whatever you’re charging, to get a copy of those graphic novels!

  2. Keith Meyers
    May 11, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    This story would transition perfectly to any other media, be it film or graphic novels! And I wouldn’t look at the price, I would more at the art work.

    • May 11, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      Glad to hear that…I guess after I get TRH off to the printer that I should consider following this avenue more closely, then!

  3. May 11, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    I think it’s a great idea to take your project, and think of it as a franchise. Create as many iterations of it in as many forms as is possible. For a treasure trove of artiists to choose from, check out conceptart.org, fineartamerica.com, or deviantart.com…

    • May 12, 2012 at 10:11 am

      Yeah, I already view it as a franchise. Now all I have to do is remember all I once knew about magazine publishing in the 90s! Bleeds, gutters, etc., etc.

  4. May 12, 2012 at 3:51 am

    I think Graphic Novels via new technology will be a good avenue. Price will be the issue … as in all things. Too high and you will only have a few takers. Too low and you don’t make enough money. Finding the sweet spot will be key.

    • May 12, 2012 at 10:12 am

      I know. Already been looking into overseas printers, which are cheaper…but require a large volume order of several thousand bucks just to start. And then I’d have to do all the mailings myself!

      • Keith Meyers
        May 12, 2012 at 10:42 am

        You could / should contact KIrkman or Brian Keene and ask for advise. They both successfully went that route. Interestingly enough, I personally do not envision this as a monthly series, but as a series of large graphic novels…that’s just me mind you…

      • May 12, 2012 at 11:21 pm

        It won’t be a monthly series, that’s for sure–not like the 44 page books that Marvel and DC and Image put out on the newstand, anyway.

  5. David W Southall
    May 13, 2012 at 8:29 am

    Due to the military centred nature of the tales, make sure you hire an artist who can portray firearms/vehicles/aircraft in sufficient detail so they appear to be real life representations and not a rough draft “oh a gun is a gun” clutched in a characters hands.

    • May 13, 2012 at 8:45 am

      That of course is one of my most primary concerns–as you might be able to tell from the film updates, I’m an enormous stickler for reality when it is achievable and doesn’t get in the way of the story. I have photos of every firearm, munition, aircraft, and uniform, down to the position of the name tape.

  6. May 13, 2012 at 10:59 am

    I love graphic novel versions of novels! And graphic novels in general. I mean look at what Neil Gaiman did with his Sandman series! Didn’t Orson Scott Card get a graphic novel version of Ender’s Game done? I remember seeing it at a comic books store.

    • May 14, 2012 at 3:29 pm

      Not so sure about the Ender’s Game product, but it would be cool if Card did do that.

  7. May 13, 2012 at 11:05 am

    Formatting for print isn’t nearly as taxing as formatting for tablets & eReaders. Just remember that most of the big comics / graphic novel publishers use an app instead of the usual epub or mobi. Get on board a cbr app. Contact me if you need help or advice. I’ve been down this road before.

  8. May 17, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    I think a graphic novel can be awesome. But most aren’t. It’s all about finding a team that can instill emotion in the art and comic writing.

    • May 18, 2012 at 10:45 am

      No kidding, which is why I’m being very deliberate in my choices. I’m not rushing it, though I would like to release it around December.

  9. joseph larosa
    May 22, 2012 at 5:05 pm

    hi steve think its a great idea. the way you write a story i think it would be a big hit. also want to thank you for the the riseing horde the best zombie searies hand down!! the suspense was outstanding and the ending blew me away i did not see that comeing. i have a feeling that these books will become the standard for whitch all zombie books will be judged.

  10. joseph larosa
    May 23, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    Please excuse my spelling.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

