Home > Writing > THE RISING HORDE: An Editorial Saga

THE RISING HORDE: An Editorial Saga

Just a little nugget to pass on to the three of you who are waiting for The Rising Horde. The editor is still going over it, and it’s going to take at least another week for her to generate the first pass edits and send them my way. Then I have to review, make or ignore the required changes and/or rewrites, then send them back. She’ll do a final review, we’ll agree on a “final” version for the proofreader, and then off it goes through the final proofing process.

That could take another three weeks, though I’m hopeful it won’t take that long.

So, end game: the book (or books) probably aren’t going to be out until the end of April now, though the savvy gambler will bet long on May.

More to come, and sorry the news isn’t more to everyone’s liking. But hey…I shouldn’t have written a 186,000+ word zombie apocalypse epic in the first place!

Out here.

  1. April 10, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    I’m excited to read it!

    • April 10, 2012 at 12:51 pm

      Shoot, I’ll be ecstatic if ANYONE reads it!

    • April 10, 2012 at 12:54 pm

      By the way, I need to get a cool profile pic like yours. Problem is, I’m so ugly no camera will take the picture, much less a cool one.

  2. ZombieMutts
    April 10, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    This is basically like releasing two large books in one sitting. Its a monster!

    If anyone cares….the first ever book review of this will post next Tuesday on bricksofthedead.com

    Here’s a preview….

    The book is about zombies.

    I can’t say anymore than that or Stephen will kill me on the spot.

    • April 10, 2012 at 12:55 pm

      Not me, but Gartrell might. If he’s free, that is.

  3. April 10, 2012 at 1:25 pm

    Steve, you oughta know by now, if you hadn’t wrote 186,000+ words, we’d be SCREAMIN for the next installment by now😀 this way at least you get a break for a LITTLE while…2, 3 days maybe even 4

    We’ll devour it whenever it gets released, no matter when…but this wait is givin me a headache…😛

    peace \m/

    • April 10, 2012 at 1:30 pm

      …and honestly, I think it’s just us 3 that hound you about it. LOL Plenty of others are waitin on it too…FYI

      just call us….Steve’s stalker club…no no…Gartrell’s gang…yeahhhh…that sounds better😀😉

    • April 10, 2012 at 4:33 pm

      It’s giving me a headache too! I just want to release the thing!

  4. joseph larosa
    April 10, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    thanks for the update steve. ive been checking amazon 10 times a day hope its sooner then later. ive have a feeling you are going to have a HUGE HIT. thanks steve and keep up the great work.

  5. April 10, 2012 at 8:34 pm

    How dare you release great, edited, material we want to read! What are you thinking?

    Seriously, though, I’m really glad you use an editor. I read a decent ebook that must not have ever been in front of an editor and it just destroyed any desire to read another book from the author. I know it costs you to get an editor, but damn it’s worth it.

    • April 11, 2012 at 7:57 am

      I went through that with The Gathering Dead, where I tried to edit it all myself. Didn’t work out very well–after months of writing it, I was able to overlook even some of the most egregious errors. If I did the same with The Rising Horde, it’d be an extremely foolish exercise. It costs a lot of money for this, but hey. If I release crap, the only person it hurts in the end is me. Well, and maybe the readers, too!

  6. Michelle Smith
    April 12, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    I can’t wait yo read this book. I love your work!

  7. Jack
    April 16, 2012 at 11:21 am

    Every week I check Amazon and this website but the dates keep getting pushed back. Now I seriously regret not having read those sneakpreview chapters you posted…
    Stephen, have you started on the next book that comes after The Rising Horde yet? I hate to bother and push you again in a few months’ time.

    • April 16, 2012 at 1:27 pm

      No, I have only tentative plans to write another Gathering Dead novel, but nothing firm yet. Working on a science fiction adventure book now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

