Home > Writing > THE RISING HORDE: A Quick Update

THE RISING HORDE: A Quick Update

First things first…I reveal to you the draft version of The Rising Horde‘s cover, by Jared Rackler. Still needs to be polished up a bit, and if the product gets split into two, then this will be the cover for Volume 1. (I still don’t know if this will happen for the book just yet.) And the tagline will be something else entirely, not the same one from The Gathering Dead.

Second bit, I just got the book back from Diana Cox, who does proofing work for a living. She had some very nice things to say about it, a snippet which I include here:

I just have to say: you have the whole page-turner, suspense, can’t-put-it-down thing down pat! I had to be extra careful on my second read-through because I got so caught up in the story the first time around, I overlooked a lot! THIS WAS GREAT!!!

Gotta love it when someone who sees hundreds of books a year says something like that!

Also got feedback from my occasional coauthor Derek Paterson, who said the thing was smooth as silk and a good, moving story. Yay for me, I guess!

Still have to see what the editor comes back with in early April, but I thought I’d just pass on the advance good word. April might be an interesting month for yours truly.

  1. zombiemutts
    March 26, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    That cover gives my zombie wiener an erection

  2. March 26, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    (doing the “gotta pee BAD dance”) ohhhhh OHHHHHHHHH…..I can’t stand it…

    hurry, hurry, HURRY,,,HUUUUURRRYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

    Steve…you….you….you just…..ARGHHHHHHHH!! …this stress can NOT be healthy…..😛

    *sob* *sniff* i don’t know how much longer I can wait…*sob*

  3. paulsalvette
    March 26, 2012 at 9:54 pm

    Cool cover. I was at a wedding in a rural Thailand and a little girl was wearing a shirt that said “Zombie Nation Eats Your Head.” Might make a cool tagline!

    • March 27, 2012 at 8:46 am

      That kind of T-shirt at a wedding? That’s just not right!

  4. ZombieMutts
    March 28, 2012 at 3:40 pm

    Unless you have any objections I am going to snag this cover for the book review even though its not 100%. We never show the full cover anyway. Just about half of it.

  5. March 28, 2012 at 7:18 pm

    Cool cover! I’m so excited to hear that the new book is finally almost here. Been on the edge of my seat for months waiting…just like everyone else I suppose!!! Keep up with the great books and I will be glad to keep reading them.

    • March 28, 2012 at 10:10 pm

      Thanks so much! I’ll be glad to put this one behind me!

  6. Jessica
    March 29, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    I can not wait for this to finally come out. Hurry!!

  7. March 30, 2012 at 10:50 am

    Hey Stephen,

    I truly understand the business decision to maybe split the book in two, but from a fans standpoint, who has been waiting patiently for the new book, it is not good news, especially if only one volume at a time comes out. I really hope you don’t split the book in two and would be happy to pay a higher price for the entire book. Whatever happens, I look forward to reading the book however it comes out. Keep writing great books!

    Fred

    • March 30, 2012 at 11:51 am

      I got that from the very first. If I do split it in two, they both get released on the same day. Am considering a one month deal where the first volume is set at a certain price, whereas the second is .99. That might work out for a while, and then I could link the print copies to the Kindle versions. I’m not sure I can link two print books to a single Kindle release.

      All business stuff, of course.

    • zombiemutts
      March 30, 2012 at 12:12 pm

      One thing though that might alleviate your worry…this isnt a standard novel. It’s an epic novel as in 700+ pages do if split you’re still getting a large novel and only a short wait.

      Not that Stephen needs me to defend the idea…I merely thinking about it myself. I hated the idea at first and now I’m leaning the other way.

      • zombiemutts
        March 30, 2012 at 12:15 pm

        Well damn I see you said same day.

        Disregard my comment….

      • March 30, 2012 at 5:35 pm

        I think I’ll adroitly avoid this in the future by writing only 60,000 word books!

    • March 30, 2012 at 2:49 pm

      Thanks for the quick reply Stephen. Whichever way it turns out, you can be sure I will be getting it immediately. I served years in the USMC and the US Army and really, really appreciate the research you do on the military in your novels. So many authors add military into their novels and have so many mistakes it is painful to see. You come across so brilliantly that I could believe you served in Special Forces yourself. Again, I hope you sell a million copies of your new novel as you truly deserve to!

      Fred

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

