Home > Writing > THE GATHERING DEAD Film Fund

THE GATHERING DEAD Film Fund

Now that I’ve officially put The Rising Horde to bed and delivered it to the folks who need to take it to the next level–and I wish them lots of luck, according to my print template, the book is 761 pages long–I’m returning to The Gathering Dead Film Fund. Some cool stuff is shaping up in the wings, though most of it doesn’t involve the crowdfunding site.

I’ve put up a placeholder trailer on the campaign site, just music and text, and the words aren’t my own: the belong to my cover artist, the erstwhile Jared Rackler, who surprised me with his rather adroit ability to provide some good cutlines. This is just something to keep the campaign site alive, which leads me to…

I’ve contracted a job with some effects artists who have put in time working for VFX houses like Rhythm & Hues. The idea is to render some scenes from the book/script and make a 30 second sizzle reel. What’ll be covered? Well, the helicopter crash sequence in NYC and the aftermath, where McDaniels, Gartrell, and the rest of the troops hold off the stenches while the Safires are whisked to safety in the office building the team takes residence in. Also some footage of NYC being overrun, with lower Manhattan on fire, complete with flames, explosions, orbiting helicopters passing in and out of the thick smoke, and over course, zombies coursing through the traffic-choked streets.

Lastly, I had the incredible good sense to reach out to several of my boyhood friends, who are either in the industry or know a lot of people who can get this project moving forward. It’s a crap shoot, of course–there are a lot of “rules” to moviemaking that don’t make a bit of sense in the business world where I come from, and there’s a lot to learn. Of course, I’m pre-loaded with attorneys, contracts, and actionable material (including an honest-to-God high-concept intellectual property), so I’m willing to lead with my chin and, for a time, my wallet. I’m currently pulling together a more focused treatment–read that as a synopsis–of the script to show around and get some temperature checks on what the next moves will be. My closest confidant and general moneybags guy is betting the farm on the trailer opening a butt load of doors for us, and I think his instincts are good. And he’s already rounded up some heavy artillery, by way of Hollywood folks to start priming the pump. This all cool stuff, folks.

More goodness to come, I hope. This is going to be a long endeavor, and if I’m guessing right, nothing’s going to happen for at least a year while we start pulling in funding and package the project. Will keep all updated as things progress.

Tomorrow, one last bit from The Rising Horde, then it’s the waiting game until release. Stay cool, y’all.

  1. March 21, 2012 at 12:06 am

    Sounds like you have a good handle on bringing TGD to the big screen, Steve.

    Best of luck on that journey. I think it’ll make a great movie. Not only that, but with it’s success, you have an awesome sequel in TRH

    So glad to hear TRH is in the final leg of it’s journey. ya-HOOOOOO

    At 700+ pages, I am SOOOOOO looking forward to a Gartrell/McDaniels & crew marathon reading weekend YAAAAY

    \m/ keep the faith buddy \m/

  2. April 25, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    Ha, thank you for the compliment! I hope to be seeing TGD in film soon. Maybe someone at SyFy might take a leap faith and film something not sucktastic *cough* Sharktopus *cough*

    • April 26, 2012 at 7:51 am

      How dare you talk smack about the pinnacle of filmed entertainment that is known as SHARKTOPUS?! I’m sure that as a wee lad you were crazy over MANIMAL during its three episode run on NBC.

      • April 30, 2012 at 7:24 pm

        Ha, way off. MANIMAL aired seven years before I was born.

      • May 1, 2012 at 7:54 am

        See, I always KNEW you were a young punk!

      • May 2, 2012 at 12:03 am

        Well, for a little while longer at least. I have to get all the punk attitude in while I can!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

