Home > Writing > CITY OF THE DAMNED in Print…Finally!

CITY OF THE DAMNED in Print…Finally!

They say good things come to those who wait.

To hell with that, sez I. Just the same, it looks like City of the Damned is finally on the road to release, as evidenced by the print proof that arrived at Casa Knight just moments ago. Jeroen ten Berge‘s cover art sure is purty, and I’m impressed at the heft and weight of the book as well. Lightning Source certainly did a good job putting it together, after the adroit assistant of the lovely and erstwhile Cheryl Perez, who came in at the last moment and embedded the missing fonts for me. (Imagine, I can build multimillon dollar networks, but can’t embed fonts in a PDF. No wonder the world is going to hell.)

The book is available for pre-order now, and should be released by 30 March 2012, if not sooner. I’ll likely be giving the printer the go-ahead to pull the trigger and start printing and shipping by the end of the day, so I’m anticipating the book actually being deliverable by next week.

But I shouldn’t make any promises I might not be able to keep.😉

That aside, The Rising Horde hits the editor on March 26. It’s a huge book, folks, almost twice as long as The Gathering Dead. I hope it tickles your fancy, and I hope to have it up on Kindle and Barnes and Noble before the end of the month, depending on how fast the edits come back and assuming I can input them in a timely manner. Definitely will be available in the first week in April, and I’ll have the paperback version out a few weeks later. (This time, I’ll just hire Cheryl immediately. Why wait?)

One last item, I have some folks from Rhythm & Hues ramping up to create a sizzle trailer for the film version of The Gathering Dead. Also have an executive producer with contacts and cash, so things might be happening in that arena as well…but I shouldn’t spoil the surprise just yet. Still a long way to go on that mission, but as soon as I get tangibles in my hand, I’ll pass those on.

Knight, out here.

  1. Paul Gross
    March 12, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    WOOHOO!!!!! Great news on COTD Steve…about TIME.

    Double WOOHOO ( WOOHOO-WOOHOO? WOOHOOx2?…whatever :p ) on the update for TGD. Soooo…..within 4 weeks max from today…\m/ COOL \m/

    Not sure how you feel about it Steve, for me it seems as long as a pregnancy waitin’ for the delivery date😀

    I hope life has settled for you and the next time you have almost-rabid weirdos like me waitin’ for the followup book(s), it gives you a smooth ride.

    Any thoughts to a book 3 of TGD series? Just askin, no clue how TRH ends…😉

    If so, WHAT ARE YOU WAITIN’ FOR?? GET WRITIN’!😀😀

    I really do hope TGD–The Movie does happen. But I realize that may very well be WAYYYYY down the road. Fingers crossed for you X><X

    Peace Buddy……

  2. March 12, 2012 at 8:35 pm

    Congratulations! Of course that all sounds like good stuff for us!

  3. robert bryant
    March 13, 2012 at 6:02 am

    thx for posting a blog for city of the damned
    I have pre-ordered and will be pre-ordering rising horde as soon as amazon has it
    ill have to have vampire eyes for all the reading i plan to do
    thx so muchly for quick replies to me
    for a busy man, u cerainly take the time to respond to your readers
    regards,
    robert

    • March 13, 2012 at 2:54 pm

      Sorry Robert, apparently I crossed the bridge too soon…I listed the book for pre-sale, but the printer is actually supposed to do that. They’re processing that request now, but that means the pre-order page will come off of Amazon for a time. Apologies for the delay, I’m trying to sort this stuff out while finishing a book, prepping another, and orchestrating visual effects guys for another project. But it’s going to happen, believe me!

  4. ZombieMutts
    March 13, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    Great update post, Stephen! Looks like you have a lot going on and I wish you the best with all of it!

  5. joseph larosa
    March 14, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    hey steve hope all is well. im like a litte kid at christmas waiting for the riseing horde glad to see the wait is almost over. im happy to hear things are going well on the movie couldnt happen to a better person or a better writer. the whole time i was reading the gathering dead i was saying what a great movie this would be. good luck to you!

  6. robert bryant
    March 16, 2012 at 9:42 am

    Hi Stephen,
    thought u might tell your loyal customers city of the damned is in stock at Amazon
    I receive a notice this morning i should have my copy by 3/26
    hooray hooray hooahh

    robert

    • March 16, 2012 at 10:00 am

      Wow, that was quick…and 3/26 is when I send The Rising Horde to the editor! What a lucky date, I guess!

  1. March 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Leave a Reply

