Home > Writing > THE RISING HORDE: Talkin’ Smack

THE RISING HORDE: Talkin’ Smack

This is what happens when Special Forces NCOs sit down to dinner. Warning: saucy language and even some (gasp!) double entendres.

Gartrell sat at a table in the D-FAC taking down a surprisingly tasty steak sandwich when two Special Forces NCOs approached him. They carried trays loaded with fooxzd and energy drinks. Master Sergeants Donald “Dusty” Roads and Rick “Barney Rubble” Forringer looked down at him as they stopped at the table.

“You mind if we dance with your dates?” Roads said, parroting a line from Animal House. He even screwed on the urban black accent. Gartrell had to smile at that. It had been a while since he’d thought about the boys from Delta Fraternity.

“Have a seat, guys,” he said.

“You sure?” Forringer asked even though he immediately pulled out a chair and plopped down into it. He definitely did look like a real-life Barney Rubble—straw blond hair, big nose, weak chin, small eyes—but the fact that he looked like a living cartoon character was undercut by the fact he was one of the sharpest SF demolitions soldiers Gartrell had ever known. Roads was an intelligence operator, much taller and leaner than Forringer, and had looks that approached Hollywood handsome. Physically, they couldn’t be more different, but personally and professionally, the two men worked well together. Both men carried their weapons with them.

“It’s a free dining facility,” Gartrell said, “but don’t waste any time sitting down or anything, Barney.”

“I gather no dust when it comes time to chow down,” he said.

“The only thing he does faster than sit down to eat is lie down to go to sleep,” Roads said as he put down his tray and pulled out a chair. The D-FAC was starting fill up, and with the addition of the civilians that had been brought into the complex, room was at a premium. Roads glanced at one of the pole-mounted flat screen TVs that stood nearby and shook his head. The battle for Austin was within a few days of commencing, and the entire 3rd Armored Cavalry Regiment had been pulled out of Fort Hood and sent to the area.

“Wow, you know how long it takes me to fall asleep? That’s kind of creepy, man,” Forringer said. He dug into his barbeque chicken without delay.

“Why’s that creepy? I thought the two of you were engaged,” Gartrell said.

Forringer frowned. “Please—I’m trying to eat.”

“Like the commentary is going to throw you off,” Roads said. “I figure half the Ranger battalion could be attacking you with a tube of Astro-Glide and you wouldn’t even notice.”

“Boy, do I miss the days of ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell.’ Seems like Dusty’s about to make a confession, Sarmajor.”

“Try not to get anything on the walls, boys,” Gartrell cautioned.

Roads grinned and started in on his own meal. It had been a while since the three of them had broken bread together, especially since Gartrell had moved over to the Special Warfare Center and started training the next generation of Army Green Berets. Roads and Forringer had remained operational, though Roads had stepped out of the alpha det regime and worked directly for Major “Switchblade” Lewis as the senior intelligence NCO with the bravo detachment. Gartrell asked Roads how he liked working with the walking mountain known as Captain Chase, and was happy to hear a favorable review. Even though Chase was Big Army, Roads thought the huge officer was sharp as a tack and could read a situation for what it was without having to pull anything.

“All right, all right, enough foreplay.” Forringer had finished his chicken, and his lips were smeared with barbeque sauce. He licked them clean and reached for a cob of corn. “We’re here to find out the straight poop, Dave.”

“Such as?”

“What happened to Keith and the rest of the guys in the Big Apple?” Roads asked. “I knew Rittenour pretty well, we were pods from the 90s.”

“Ah.” Gartrell finished his steak sandwich and leaned back in his chair. He looked from one man to the other. “Keith’s team handled themselves really well. Rittenour and Leary especially so—those guys were leaning forward in the foxhole the entire time. If not for them, I wouldn’t be here right now. Or I’d have a different pallor and would be eating you.”

“Did McDaniels screw the pooch again?” Roads asked. He and Forringer knew all about the bad blood that existed between Gartrell and McDaniels—a lot of folks inside the community of Quiet Professionals had the inside line on that, since Gartrell hadn’t been the most restrained of individuals in his younger days.

Gartrell took a moment to gather his thoughts before answering. “I’m not sure that Bill Meadows himself could have done things any differently,” he said finally.

Forringer gaped at the invocation of one of the luminaries of the Special Forces universe. “You’re mentioning McDaniels and Meadows in the same conversation? I think this qualifies as a ‘what the fuck’ moment, and it frankly has me scared.”

“Try not to spot your thong,” Gartrell said.

“You want to try and clear that up a bit, Dave?” Roads remained fixed on target, which was what made him such an unflappable type of operator.

“Clear what up, exactly?”

“What happened in New York…and how McDaniels is suddenly a stand-up guy in your eyes.”

Gartrell was annoyed by the questioning, but he tried not to let it show. He thought back to what he had gone through, both with McDaniels and after. The truth of the matter was, Gartrell had always prided himself on being able to keep his emotions in check. He’d always thought that he had the ability to suppress his personal desires and put the mission first. But if that was truly the case, then chances are good he never would have pulled a weapon on McDaniels and threatened to kill him over another disagreement over operational matters.

And then, there was the boy, Jaden. An autistic three-year-old boy Gartrell had tried to save by leading him and his mother through the black subway tunnels beneath New York City. A boy whose final moments in life were full of terror and pain.

“Dude, you all right?”

Gartrell looked up and saw Forringer and Roads looking at him, concern on their faces. He wondered what they had seen in his eyes in that moment when he thought of Jaden and his mother, and the fate he had led them to beneath the streets of Manhattan.

“Dave?” It was Roads prompting him this time, and Gartrell looked at him with a heavy sigh.

“Guys, there’s no mystery to it,” he said finally. “I last worked for McDaniels in, what, 2007? A lot of water has gone under the bridge since then. Things change. People change. McDaniels has changed. And me, too. He did what he had to do in New York, and he accomplished the mission. Now Keith, Rittenour, Leary…all the troops who went in with us are dead, that’s true. But it wasn’t because of McDaniels. It was because of the fucking stenches.” Gartrell pointed at the nearby TV, which showed a Stryker unit opening up on a gaggle of zombies ambling up a trash-littered highway somewhere in the middle of Texas.

“So that’s it, then?” Roads asked. “Nothing more to it? Things change, and McDaniels is a stand-up guy again?”

“Dusty, do you want to ask him for yourself? I realized I bitched about the move he made in Afghanistan, and I still have reservations about it…but in the end, it was his call. He has to live with the fallout too. And right now, we’ve all got a pretty big fight to get ready for, so we need to put aside the petty shit and soldier like we’re supposed to. We’ve got a butt-load of civilians in the compound now, and we have to protect them as well as this facility and preserve it so it can be used to accomplish its mission.”

Forringer cackled. “Hah, this is the command sergeant major talking, right?”

Gartrell didn’t smile. “Guys, I’m all about the mission. I’m the quick reaction force senior NCO, and I report directly to the lieutenant colonel in charge. We can discuss the guy’s merits all night long, but in the end, he’s the one calling shots. That shouldn’t be a gray area, right?” As he said this last, Gartrell looked directly at Roads.

Roads shook his head immediately. “Not for me, bro. I’m good with it.”

“Same here,” Forringer said. “If anyone’s interested, that is.”

“Of course we’re interested in what you have to say, sweetheart,” Gartrell said. “But what was your name, again?”

Forringer shook his head. “I knew it—you’re the kind who just won’t respect me in the morning.”

“Man, we don’t even respect you now,” Roads said.

“Damn you…damn you to hell,” Forringer said in his best Charlton Heston voice.

And there you have it. Usual disclaimers apply, draft stuff, might not make it into the final, blah-blah-blah.

  1. February 16, 2012 at 10:46 am

    Steve,
    I appreciate these little excerpts, whether they make final draft or not, I really do.

    But at the same time….THEY ARE KILLING ME!!!😀

    With everything you’ve let us taste, how many pages might we be looking at for The Rising Horde? Just curious. I don’t know the final layout or whatever, but I feel like it could be 450+. How that translates into KB, I don’t know. TGD was 511KB…TRH sounds like 1000KB or better (I HOPE I HOPE).

    MAN, This is worse than when I was a young’un waiting on Christmas. Feels like it’s been Christmas Eve eve forEVER.

    Keep up the great work Sir,

    \m/ write on
    Paul

    • February 16, 2012 at 10:51 am

      Well, TRH is about 50% longer than TGD (140,000+ words vs. about 88,000 for the original). Don’t know what the final size will be just yet, though.

      • February 16, 2012 at 10:58 am

        COOL, so I was kinda close. Roughly 950KB or so..Excellent.

        Still looking at hard final submit date around 3/24? I THINK that was the date I saw some where, maybe FB(?)

  2. February 16, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    It goes to the editor on 3/26, so depending on how fast I get it back, it’ll be up around 3/30 or so.

    • February 16, 2012 at 3:48 pm

      outstanding!

      Roughly 6 weeks from tomorrow. I’m starting the countdown. I’ll be camping outside the Kindle store to be one of the first,😀😉

      Take care \m/

  3. robert bryant
    February 17, 2012 at 6:17 am

    I know the rising horde keeps on arising to the printer,but can u give me another
    update on when city of the damned is gonna to be in paperback
    its been about a month since i have bugged u on an update
    thx muchly!!!

    • February 17, 2012 at 9:46 am

      The printer keeps rejecting it, saying the fonts aren’t embedded in the files. I’m trying to figure it out, but there just aren’t enough hours in the day.

  4. Dungeondan
    February 19, 2012 at 11:16 pm

    Thanks for the teaser, keep them coming……it makes the wait a little more bearable!

  5. February 24, 2012 at 9:21 am

    Not sure what happened to my comment. Please …I would like to know if you have the sequel to The Gathering Dead out as it said it would be out in fall of 2011. I cannot find it on Amazon or anywhere.

    Please let me know.

    Thanks

    • Paul Gross
      February 24, 2012 at 10:30 pm

      Allow me Steve, please..
      The Rising Horde…the sequel to The Gathering Dead… is due out on or around March 30. Life (and other stuff) got in the way and delayed the final draft.

      Now me…I know, it’s killin me too…BUT looks like TRH is roughly twice the size of TGD so…a GREAT read

      Countdown…4 weeks, 6 days from today–fingers crossed x >< x

      • Paul Gross
        February 24, 2012 at 10:31 pm

        oops, that date is for the Kindle BTW….

      • February 27, 2012 at 12:16 pm

        Thank you, my brother!

  6. February 24, 2012 at 9:22 am

    Sorry, I meant to ask for Kindle please. Thank you

  7. Paul Gross
    February 27, 2012 at 12:29 pm

    Not a problem at all Steve.

    I’ve got your back, even though at times i wanna scream😀 for the date getting pushed back more than once. But I know you are a mere mortal and can’t help the day-to-day stuff that comes up in conflict with it.

    waiting and hangin on by the tips of my fingers….

    \m/ Write on Sir \m/

  8. Paul Gross
    March 4, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    Steve,
    This has been drivin me crazy for a while now, so I figure I’d ask you because I can’t find the answer.

    What group/branch/team uses the nickname Nightcrawlers? I know I know it, but can NOT grab it outa my head. :p I know it seems like a silly question, it’s just been buggin me for a while.

    Thanks brother,

    \m/

    • March 4, 2012 at 10:12 pm

      I don’t know of any unit that goes by the name Night Crawlers, but the 160th Special Operations Aviation Regiment (Airborne) out of Campbell, Savannah, and Joint Base McCord goes by Night Stalkers. Is that the unit you were thinking of, maybe?

  9. Paul Gross
    March 5, 2012 at 1:08 am

    NIGHT STALKERS…wow was I W-A-Y off *D’oh*

    SOAR…yeah yeah I’m a dipstick

    I even went through TGD and it STILL didn’t register with me. No wonder i couldn’t find anything . Lol

    If it’d been a snake in your book, I’d be dead right now. Saw your post and it jumped out from the book now. For some weird reason, it just did not register with me…wow major brain fart.

    Thanks Steve

    \m/

    • March 5, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Not to worry…if something I wrote caused it, then it must be my responsibility!🙂

      • Paul Gross
        March 5, 2012 at 9:34 am

        To be honest, that isn’t the first brain fart I’ve had [img]http://smiley.motorz.ir/yahoo/21.gif[/img] . But, since you offered…..yea let’s blame Steve! [img]http://smiley.motorz.ir/yahoo/24.gif[/img]

  10. Paul Gross
    March 5, 2012 at 9:37 am

    aww that’s crap…i tried stupid smileys that’re supposed to post in places like here.

    ANYway, totally ruined the joke…

    Thanks for the info, but I’m used to brain farts by now…”I couldn’t see it for lookin” as my Grand daddy used to say.

    thanks again and take care Steve

    \m/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

