Home > Writing > In The Pipeline: TRIBES

In The Pipeline: TRIBES

Tribes cover art

Once I put The Rising Horde to bed–and it goes to the editor on March 26, 2012, which is a hard date–I’ll start work on my next project, a science fiction adventure set in the Antarctic called Tribes. Jared Rackler provided me with a cover mockup last year, and I’d hoped to have the book finished and available in January. (Alas, such grandiose plans go awry!) That obviously didn’t happen, but the wheel slowly turns, and what promises to be a crackling good adventure read is coming around again. I have a fair-sized portion of the book complete, and will post some snippets once I’m comfortable with the book’s progress.

 
Readers of my past efforts will doubtless expect some feats of derring-do, including some nice military pieces. In Tribes, I’ll be offering a glimpse into what might happen if the United States and the People’s Republic of China square off in what would be considered a contingency operation. That is, U.S. Army Rangers and PRC Marines going toe-to-toe in the frozen wastelands down under, while a group of scientists and their game-changing discovery are caught in the middle.
 
No zombies in this one, I should tell you. And CSM Gartrell won’t be making a cameo either, just in case anyone might have hopes for that. This might be a bit of a divergence from my past works, perhaps closer to Hackett’s War as opposed to The Gathering Dead, but the general thrust will be the same: rug-pull adventure, high drama, a high-stakes game, and even a bit of romance for once. (I threw that one in for the ladies.)
 
Stay tuned for that. I command you!
 
And also check back in a few days for some news about The Gathering Dead. Things are getting interesting, now that The Rising Horde shambles closer and closer to eventual release…
  1. Nathan
    February 10, 2012 at 9:27 am

    You really had my undivided attention at the post’s headline. I’m a long time fan of the PC game “Tribes”, and I was thinking (hoping) that you were announcing something to do with that game. Say… a story using the game’s (very minimal) canon in your gritty style.

    Even if this isn’t about one of my favorite games of all time, this sounds like a really interesting topic, and I’m looking forward to this.

    What a tease🙂

  2. February 10, 2012 at 2:11 pm

    There was a video game called Tribes? Heh, never knew that…the last time I played video or PC games, Red Faction and Unreal Tournament were brand new!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

