Home > Writing > Wool, Baby, Wool!

Wool, Baby, Wool!

No, no…this isn’t a post about my favorite fetish. Besides which, I find wool is far too rough and itchy to hold against my bare skin.

But what this post is about is a super-cool science fiction short story I read on the train home last night, called WOOL. When Hugh Howey responded to my post about my 2011 earnings and cited his current take, of course my mercenary instincts kicked in and I checked out some of his stuff. I’ve only read WOOL so far, but my God, did this story knock my socks off.

If the rest of his works are of equal caliber, then this guy deserves every penny he gets. (And yeah, he gets a lot…the bastard.) I haven’t been this enamored of a science fiction story since my pal Derek Paterson showed me Adjustments in the early part of this century. (I’ve given up on badgering him to turn the story into a full-on novel, which is our collective loss.)

So if my recommendations mean anything to you, check out WOOL. I am pretty damn sure you’ll dig it, and for the price, you can’t really go wrong.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to get back to writing the steamy McDaniels/Gartrell/Regina Safire shower scene.

  1. January 26, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Two words: Smart Wool – Okay, nothing related to the book you read, but amazing NON-ITCHY comfortable WOOL.😉 That’s all.

  2. January 26, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Been hearing about Wool, had no clue what to make of it with the unconventional cover but the blurb was particularly alluring. Fantastic writing so far which was particularly refreshing. Am no literary/prose snob but gotta admit the delivery in the last few indies I read was…kinda flat. Wool was gripping from the first few pages (and they’re really small pages on my smartphone) can’t wait to finish it tonight.

    Thanks

    • January 27, 2012 at 12:46 am

      Yeah, it was a really fantastic tale, very well told. Here’s hoping the rest of the series maintains the same quality. I really, really enjoyed it.

  3. January 30, 2012 at 7:10 am

    Hey Stephen, I’m glad you liked it! I’m hoping to dive into THE GATHERING DEAD with one of the long flights I have in the next few weeks. The reviews on your books are sparkling. Congrats!

    • January 30, 2012 at 11:44 am

      Hugh, it was a surprisingly good read–so good that I went out and grabbed the rest of the Wool series. Looking forward to getting through them all. And I hope you like TGD! If not, the responsibility lies with me.🙂

  4. Nathan
    February 9, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    I hadn’t heard of Wool, but I tried it on your suggestion. And you were right, it’s awesome. Thanks for turning me to yet another good author!

    • February 9, 2012 at 5:07 pm

      And the best part is, the other stories in the series seem to be of the same caliber! I’m about halfway through WOOL 3 now. Fantastic so far.

  5. March 4, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Hey Stephen, did you ever finish the third book? I’m wondering where you are in the series.

    Thanks again for the mention.

    • March 5, 2012 at 8:46 am

      No problem, Hugh…about to dive into WOOL 5 now. You keep bangin’ ’em out, bro!

      The next book will be out at the very end of March or the beginning of April.

      • March 5, 2012 at 10:43 am

        Wait…maybe you were asking me about WOOL 3, not my own stuff. If so, sorry! I’ve left reviews for every one of your titles that I’ve read, and all were damned good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

