Home > Writing > THE RISING HORDE: Politically Incorrect

THE RISING HORDE: Politically Incorrect

After a quick run-and-gun with the stenches on a Texas highway near Joint Task Force SPARTA, McDaniels and company discover a van suspected of carrying illegals turns out to actually be full of zombies. Major “Switchblade” Lewis makes the following sage observation:

“See, illegal immigration is the bane of this great nation—now the Mexicans are starting anchor zombies.”

  1. December 10, 2011 at 2:53 am

    BWAH-HA-ha-ha-ha ROFLM*O

  2. December 11, 2011 at 12:14 am

    When you’re hopelessly surrounded by a zombie horde..might as well tell the jokes were afraid to tell in the workplace.

    How has “Horde” been doing?

    Dave

    Writing Trip

  3. December 11, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Dave :

    When you’re hopelessly surrounded by a zombie horde..might as well tell the jokes were afraid to tell in the workplace.

    How has “Horde” been doing?

    Dave

    Writing Trip

    Well, it hasn’t been released yet, if that’s what you mean…and I’m afraid it’s going to be held up yet again, since life has been hurling tons of curve balls my way, I’m sorry to say. More on that later, though.

    • December 11, 2011 at 4:37 pm

      ……NO-O-O-O-O-O!!!

      Sat it ain’t so Joe….I mean….Steve😛

      Everything okay?

      • December 12, 2011 at 7:49 am

        Sure, everything’s fine…other than the usual vagaries of life doing what it does to the unsuspecting, it comes down to the fact the book just isn’t ready yet!

  4. December 11, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    Steve

    Got you there, going on 6 months of one crisis after the next. Hand in there.I wanted my novella, “The Doomsday Door” up by X-mas. Just not happening.

    Will look for it. Best of luck.

    • December 12, 2011 at 7:50 am

      Well, thankfully my crises aren’t very horrifying, they just take a lot of time to manage…mostly job-related, since I’m still a working stiff, and I’ve been struggling with 16 hour days for the past few weeks, which means something has to come out of the schedule.

  5. December 12, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    16 hour days this time of the year, sounds like retail management? Hope that’s not the case. Did that before, would rather have been back in boot camp.

    Hard to write 1-2k words (harder still to revise) when you’re a zombie yourself when you get home. One of the reasons I’ve been doing this so long and (outside my requisite “1mil words of crap” ) don’t have much to show for it.

    • December 12, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      No, I work on Wall Street, so it’s a different kind of deal than retail. Which is sounding better all the time, actually…

  6. December 12, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    Oh, god no…don’t ever do retail brother! Worst job ever and I’ve been enlisted military, a cook, warehouse sweat pig, sales schmuck…many others. Depsite a roll call of shitty jobs I never felt more like a disposable sock or wet-wipe than when I managed a K-mart.

    I interviewed with a Morgan Stanley back in 2006 after I left active duty. Glad I didn’t end up there, would have been a tough couple years.

    I thought you were in CA?

    Dave

  7. December 12, 2011 at 8:04 pm

    Nope, I’m in the NYC area…have lived in both LA and SF, though.

  8. zombiemutts
    December 13, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Stephen Knight :Well, thankfully my crises aren’t very horrifying, they just take a lot of time to manage…mostly job-related, since I’m still a working stiff, and I’ve been struggling with 16 hour days for the past few weeks, which means something has to come out of the schedule.

    Honestly thoough this is a good thing if you think about it. People will have lots of amazon gift cards to use post Christmas.

    Look forward to reading this. Take care!

  9. zombiemutts
    December 13, 2011 at 10:36 am

    zombiemutts :

    Stephen Knight :Well, thankfully my crises aren’t very horrifying, they just take a lot of time to manage…mostly job-related, since I’m still a working stiff, and I’ve been struggling with 16 hour days for the past few weeks, which means something has to come out of the schedule.

    Honestly thoough this is a good thing if you think about it. People will have lots of amazon gift cards to use post Christmas.
    Look forward to reading this. Take care!

    As you can see….proper editing is the foundation of word smithing or you simply look stupid to those reading your words.

    • December 13, 2011 at 11:08 am

      Heh! Exactly…if it ain’t ready yet, releasing it early only hurts me.

  10. zombiemutts
    December 13, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    And with that 16 hour day…don’t you drive like two hours a day to and from work?

    • December 13, 2011 at 4:43 pm

      Train and subway, actually. But since I can’t sleep on them, it’s about the same as driving!

  11. December 13, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    Train and subway, actually. But since I can’t sleep on them, it’s about the same as driving

    Steve…laptop it…”The Firm” was written during morning and afternoon commutes; Grisham was working crazy-ass rookie lawyer hours with little ones at home.

    I stay at home for now so any excuse is, by default, lame but it’s still tough between a 3 year old and a “honey-do” list.

    Writing Trip

  12. robert bryant
    January 4, 2012 at 9:01 am

    Where can I find a paperback copy of city of the damned
    everywhere I look I only see electronic versions including nook book from Barnes and nobles

    your web site says there is a paperback version help help
    robert

  13. January 4, 2012 at 10:48 am

    The book is being printed as we speak. It takes some time to get it printed and shipped, but I expect it to be completed within three weeks or so. Sorry for the delay!🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

