Home > Writing > CITY OF THE DAMNED: EXPANDED EDITION Now Available!

CITY OF THE DAMNED: EXPANDED EDITION Now Available!

City of the Damned: Expanded Edition Cover by Jeroen ten Berge

So in the midst of all this zombie mayhem I’ve created, I’ve been slowly nudging City of the Damned into print. As I started the process, I decided that I wanted to restore a good chunk of material that I’d tossed out when I was shopping the book around the traditional publishing industry. Back then, conventional wisdom was that a book should be no more than 80,000 words long; the original cut of CotD was 121,000. Way too big, and I was getting a lot of bounces due to the book’s length.

 
The original version I released in February of 2011 is closer to 90,000 words, and I’d had to hack out a lot of goodness to make it live up to its svelte image. When I decided to release a paperback version of the book, it dawned on me that I was no longer bound by the artificial constraints of the publishing industry. I was free to do as I wished with the product, since the only person investing in its production was me.
 
And I’m not a cheapskate. If I’m going to do something up, I try and do it up well.
 
So I restored most of the original material (some of it, such as what happens to the containment team when they’re picked up by the LAPD after the USC Hospital raid, I elected to leave on the cutting room floor). The extra content gives some additional depth to the story, and most certainly serves to show the reader that these vampires aren’t the cute, sparkly kind that the Twilight series turned them into. These vampires are badasses who only view humans as food.
 
And of course, the leader of the vampire coven, Osric, has some extra-evil plans for humanity that extend far beyond just drinking their blood.
 
Featuring a new cover by famed artist Jeroen ten Berge (who has done covers for Blake Crouch, Barry Eisler, and J.A. Konrath, among others), the book will be released in paper sometime before the Christmas holidays. In the meantime, it can be yours today on your Kindle for $4.99, and it’s coming soon for the Nook and Smashwords.
 
 
  1. zombiemutts
    November 30, 2011 at 11:49 am

    I have never read a true vampire story featuring them as the monsters they truly are. I look forward to this.

    I guarantee you will get some bad reviews on amazon for this being too “gruesome, violent, brutal…etc” from people who will be surprised at the content.

    Sparkly vampires have distorted the true horror of vampire.

  2. November 30, 2011 at 12:28 pm

    They have indeed, and I’ve just never been a huge fan of vampires becoming part of the human landscape. Sheesh, we can’t even get Israelis and Palestinians to get along (and for the record, when they aren’t going after the Israelis, the Arabs like to pound on the Palestinians too)–how the heck could something like VAMPIRES integrate into mortal society? That’s like putting an unsupervised kid in a candy store. Or Congress in a bank vault…

    • zombiemutts
      November 30, 2011 at 12:53 pm

      I’ll be reading this in a few weeks…my kindle is on fire…I have never happily consumed so many books as I do now. December will be the month of S-Knight.

      I was going to ask if you had plans to write a ghost story but I remember you have that novella. Not sure where you dig to find the time and energy. I am working on something myself that I plan to release for free on amazon and last night I spent what amounted to 6 hours obsessing over 800 words. I’m so green I wouldn’t even consider myself a rookie at this but I have a newfound respect for the dedication one must have.

  3. November 30, 2011 at 1:27 pm

    zombiemutts :

    I am working on something myself that I plan to release for free on amazon and last night I spent what amounted to 6 hours obsessing over 800 words. I’m so green I wouldn’t even consider myself a rookie at this but I have a newfound respect for the dedication one must have.

    Gotta ask, why release it for free? How big a project is it? If it’s going to be a full-blown book or novella, at least sell it for .99!

  4. zombiemutts
    November 30, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    To be brutally honest because I have no idea what I am doing. I have been an avid reader all my life but that doesn’t translate into a capable story teller. My Goal is a novella and see what becomes of it. I guess in giving it away for free is my hopes to get some good feedback in reviews for the reason authors use beta readers.

    One story line of a character is similar to something that happens in another book I like so I spent a month obsessing over that. “Would I have thought of this if I hadn’t read that book?!?!?!” hah

  5. November 30, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    zombiemutts :

    To be brutally honest because I have no idea what I am doing. I have been an avid reader all my life but that doesn’t translate into a capable story teller. My Goal is a novella and see what becomes of it. I guess in giving it away for free is my hopes to get some good feedback in reviews for the reason authors use beta readers.

    One story line of a character is similar to something that happens in another book I like so I spent a month obsessing over that. “Would I have thought of this if I hadn’t read that book?!?!?!” hah

    Sell it!

    And don’t worry a bit about where your inspiration comes from, so long as it works for you.

    • zombiemutts
      November 30, 2011 at 2:04 pm

      I certainly have a ways to go before I get to that point but you certainly know your way around this. Thank you. 99 cents is reasonable.

  6. November 30, 2011 at 10:52 pm

    Steve

    Was wondering which of your books I was going to start with, think it will be this one.

    Dave

  7. zombiemutts
    December 2, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Hey Dave….after that one check out The Gathering Dead.

    When you get to a part of the book that has a guy looking down a stairwell with zombies trying to make their way up…well….go ahead and put in a mouthpiece because you’ll be clenching your teeth so hard in anxiety you might crack a tooth or five…

  8. December 4, 2011 at 10:56 am

    Mutts…I’ll do that.

    Not to turn this thread into a review discussion but has anyone read Public Enemy Zero yet? Has similiar plot elements as a zombie survivial thriller, The hero is dealing with a sort of ‘reverse’ rage virus. I kinda discounted it, cover looked too homemade for me, but it refuses to die outside of the top sci-fi 50, figured it was doing something right. It’s really good so far.

    • December 4, 2011 at 1:35 pm

      I haven’t read it, but I haven’t had much time to read a damn thing lately! Will add it to the list and see how it shakes out.

  9. December 4, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    It was funny, went to the authors blog, expecting a indie-writing bonanza page like Gaughran or DWS and…judging by his page…he looks like only a part time writer and full time magician! He has some other fantasy books but mostly indie non-fiction books on magic.

    The more I’m reading “Zero” the better it’s getting, It’s a mystery thriller, a medical science thriller, a Govt. conspiracy thriller, a horror survival story…in the first hundred pages it went from kinda interesting to kinda brilliant.

    It’s funny..you’d think someone who manages to craft a true breakout e-pub indie would have page plastered with his half dozen planned sci-fi series or what have you…selling to his new readership. It’s the jackpot we all want.

    No. He wants you to buy his “learn magic” books.

    His writing career, more power to him, just seems so unusual compared to the many other indie writers out there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

