Home > Writing > City of the Damned now $2.99

City of the Damned now $2.99

So I did what I said I wouldn’t do for at least a month–I whacked the price for City of the Damned, lowering it by two bucks to $2.99.

Since the book was released in the first week of March, it’s fairly languished on all the sites, despite the good reviews that have come in (two 5 star, one 4 star) and my own efforts to publicize it all over the internet. I would guess the original price of $4.99 only contributed to the fact that it was moving about as fast as molasses in January, so a reduction was inevitable. If this reduction kick starts sales, then I’m all for it, but I’m going to chalk this up as a lesson learned. In the future, I’ll price my works on the lower end of the scale, and probably establish $2.99 as the top end.

Categories: Writing
  1. March 11, 2011 at 11:14 am

    If I ever go that route, I’ll be making my work as inexpensive as possible. As the owner of an e-reader, I exclusively read from the ‘bargain bin’ in the sony store. Nothing against expensive books, just that I hate spending $100+ on a reader AND still pay the same price for an e-book as I would for a ‘real’ one.

    • March 11, 2011 at 11:24 am

      Price is definitely important! At $4.99, City of the Damned was still well below the usual market value, which is between $7.99 and $9.99 for genre fiction. But that price point just wasn’t sweet enough, so I slashed it. Let’s see what happens.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

